Hanging Fluores

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

McDoobie

The Great White Jamaican
Reaction score
I searched for almost 2 hours and found nothing on this.

I have dual tube 40 watt fluoros that have been horizontal for 3 months in my garage. I decieded they could be put to better use so I mounted them vertical along the wall of my new space. After 3 hrs or so 2 of them died and were smoking.

Is there a known issue with mounting these vertical or just bad luck?

Good question, let me see if I can find the manual thing to the ones I just got as I have little experience with them. Someone should be along to help you if not.

OK, the tech guide said nothing..not yes or no. My intuition tells me its not a good idea because it would cause all heat to rise to one end of tube. I'll be waiting with ya for the answer on this one.

THG??

Congratulations McDoobie. You are hereby elevated to the rank of MJ Scientist.
You correctly used scientific method, :bong:
Is there a known issue with mounting these vertical :fid: as a hypothesis, :joint:
and then performed an experiment that, I would say, proves that there maybe wasn't a known issue before, but now there is a known issue - the tubes blow. :huh:
Sir, you get my vote for best Newbie of the year! And I am not being sarcastic. :)