Rockwool

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sweetnug

Reaction score
Wanted to get a few ideas about rockwool. I am familar with hydroton and hydro. I am starting 6" Rockwool cubes in a 3x3 table, ebb & flow. Just wondered how often to set timer on during lighting. Think 1-2 per day but not 100%. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Well, starting out, you can flood 1-2 times with those 6" cubes, as they retain water pretty well. As the plant gets bigger and roots start blasting out of the cubes, then yes, you must flood more often to ensure the root mass does not dry out.

Thanks a lot man. Thats what I figured just wanted to get a professional opinion. I am vegging them 10 in. before 12/12. You think that 4" cubes would suffice next time???

I'm no expert with e&f but I would imagine you could use a smaller cube if your water times were more often. Small cube vs big cube. Small cubes wont hold as much and for as long as the bigger cubes?

I've grown them BIG in those 4" cubes.Cover the top(moldy green slime if not)and its WAY better to put a layor of hydroton pellets down then add rockwool cubes then place your 4" on top,add hydroton to the side and presto.

With the 6in cubes should they be real dry or moderately dry before the next watering. They seem to be staying pretty wet and I may have to cut back the length of cycle since drainage (drying) is very important.

i water my 4" cubes once a day, any more and my plants droop

what makes marijuana root systems the happiest? You have to know the answer to that question BEFORE you choose a medium.

With that in mind, what medium provides the best aeration and yet still contains enough moisture to allow the roots to uptake nutrient???

HYDROTON.

Rockwool absolutely needs less watering than hydroton, as it retains water more effectively.