Scrog trim job

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DirtySouthernAfficionado

Dirtiest of the Dirty
Reaction score
Oki, so I've never done a scrog before.
I've got this setup
50 gallon rubbermaid
I got 5 plants under the screen, about a month in.
I've been slowly trimming the bottom area up. Knocking out leaves and such, left the growth shoots to see if they would get to the screen. Most did. It would seem, as it is about a month into bloom, the stretch is fading and the bud is building. :D (YAY)
Question is: I got all this pesky leaf matter all over on the top by the buds and over some buds and such. Got a solid layer of foilage on the underside of the screen. Does anyone else trim up this top leaf a bit? Or completely?
I would think taking off ALL the extra leaf up top would be unwise, think layer of leaf on the screen or not. Just curious about anyone else's techniques on this matter.
Thanks champs :cool:
Peace

Hehe..
Goddess
Your one of the main ones I was reading on before I registered.
You definately got plenty of photo proof to show off the benefit of leaving those fan leaves alone.
I'm actually about to move a couple of little ones from the veg tub into my bloom tub. That would be the 50 gallon. The five in bloom already, I've trimmed the whole of the bottom area below the screen up. Perhaps the next five going in next to I shall leave them be and see what differences occur...
I do hate seeing all these small buds at the base of the screen overshadowed by a big fan leaf...
My bulbs need to come in....
That would help...
Anyways, I'll work on some pictures and setup of my scrog closet here soon. And I'll leave those girls alone this time around and see what a difference it can make.
Thanks