adding density without adding light...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chiefMOJOrisin

Buddha's Shaman
Reaction score
I've been growing for 2 years and slowly upgraded my lighting to what i have now. 2, 175w MH and 306 total watts of CFL. Total 656w. Under the lights are 6 plants at day 13 of 12/12. I give them Age Old organics Bloom 5-10-5 every 2 weeks. Today being the first application. And i gave them age old's "grow" 12-6-3 during veg. I have a fan on the plants and another on the ballasts. The grow room is in my closet and I have about a 6x4x2' space to work with.

Over the grows I experimented with topping, FIM technique, SOG and LST techniques to maximize yeild. All had results but not all had what I was looking for. I did realize that a larger number of smaller plants is both easier and quicker. In addition i noticed that leaving the plants main cola, as opposed to topping, gives a better yeild with less plants. I guess because the weight of the biggest cola is more than the smaller ones formed from topping.

So now I am looking to get these buds really dense and fat. The main reason I grow bud is to save $$ and smoke for almost free. Having said that... At this point in time I have no money to better my grow room with stronger lights or CO2 makers or anything like that. Or any cash to get more nutes. Although i have enough nutes for this grow.

Does anyone know any ways to increase the density of my buds using perhaps household items, or easy DIY methods?? I usually keep them under 12/12 until the tichs are 50% opaque and 50% amber. Usually a little more toward the amber side. Would waiting longer sacrifice potency and my preferred high for bud weight??

I plan to try some half-*** CO2 ideas soon. Such as yeast and sugar in a soda bottle. I also heard that foliar feeding with seltzer helps boost CO2.
ANY feedback is greatly appreciated.