Equipment maintenance?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dr. Green Fang

You don't see me . . .
Reaction score
Curious... I know it's good to use bleach and water and wipe down your tents each grow, but I'm wondering if it's good to do things such as;

~Take ballasts apart and rid them of dust etc
~Take light fixtures apart, use windex on glass and / or do something with the bulbs
~Take vent blowers apart and clean them out. Maybe check barrings?
~Ever clean your ducting? I'm sure that's fine tho? :confused2:

Just a thought I had, wanted to run the though out in the wild MP, and see what I get for answers. I just want to prevent a fire or other hazard at ALL costs!! :aok:

i wipe clean everything between grows. as far as "maintenance" goes, i always clean the dust out of anything electronic, with compressed air. anyone with a background in electronics knows, the key to a long life is cleanliness.

I'm a computer tech (personal, not professional) and all around handy guy :D :aok:

I assumed the dust in ballst thing, just wondering "all" aspect of maintenance and / or something I should consider. :)

Cheers for popping into the thread!

i have yet to take apart my inline fan and check out the inter workings for myself, so i'm not really sure if cleaning it out will help. i believe they use ball bearings, which will be covered in some type of bearing grease that keeps them from rusting or collecting dust/dirt etc. i'm confident the bearings are good to go for at least a few years without maintenance. BUt like i said, i'm not entirely sure of what and how everything works on them.

Reckon I give everythin a spring cleanin sort of makeover ever time I start gain. Just like starten right how I ends up is ussualy all wrong but fills me pouch ;)

BWD