I'm convinced to go HPS, maybe Son Agro

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

T-rex

Reaction score
You guys and alot of reading convinced me to spend the extra $ and go HPS. What about the Son Agro 430w setup in my 2X8 closet? I believe it was rated 53k lumens which would give me aprox 3.3k lumens per sq ft. Correct me if I'm wrong. Are there different ballasts to use with the Son Agro 430? If so what do you recomend, especially costwise? Do I mount the light in the center of the 8' ceiling or elsewhere. If I leave the sliding closet doors open a couple of inches on each end and put a standing column floor fan on one end blowing air through and out the other end, will this suffice as good ventalation? Sorry for all the questions, but I'm totally new at this and want to do it right the first time. All your advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks alot,
T-rex

Read the stickies in the light forum. I took me awhile to understand what I needed. Read and read some more. Personaly I would say you need more than that. Like two lights. Is it 2ft deep by 8 ft wide? More info like are you doing the entire grow in this room Veg-flower?

Plus you dont want the light all the way up. Needs to be closer to your plants.

Sonny T is a good choice ( But i prefer my sunlight ) Peace and Happy growing !

You are really looking for around 5000 lumens per sq ft. I would make the closet a little smaller--around 2 x 5 or so. Otherwise, you will find that the plants at the ends of the closet are not getting adequate light--a 400W just isn't going to cast light that far (my 1000W doesn't even do well in a closet 6.5' in length). Line it with mylar, Panda film or paint it FLAT white to get the best reflection you can.