Mold or just new roots?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Silver Bullet Special

Reaction score
Well this is my first time even germing a mj seed (this is seed number 2 of 3 and got all three to pop). I noticed this white fuzz I was wondering if this was hold on the stem or just new root hairs.

The seedling has almost opened up now but it seems to have slowed drastically. I dont even know if its healthy for that root to be showing in the light like it is, I may tear a piece of my rapid rooter off and stick it just over the hole.

mail.jpg

bummer :( so should I scrap it and germ another one or just wait and see what happens, I'll move the other seedlings away or put them in a solo cup with drain holes with soil tonight.

wait, yesterday one of my germin' MAtaro sprouts pushed it's entirety out of the soil and it's beginning rootmass looked almost like white mold, but it wasn't it was the newly forming rootball of the seedling.

Separate it from the rest till A: you can post a clearer pic B: You can absolutely verify that you're not misdiagnosing...

EDIT: I can barely make out that pic and I don't even wear glasses...
:peace:,

7ge

That looks like fungus on the root to me. I have had some issues in recent past with "damping off" and had to pull the roots out to inspect and they didn't look that "fuzzy". I don't remember any roots that I've seen after germing looking that "fuzzy". The top part of the seedling doesn't look right either. I would certainly quarentine that one for a week or two to see what happens. You may have aquired a fungus in the rooters, or just that one. I have discovered the hard way that you have to be careful about storing your medium while its not in use so that you don't get pathogens developing in it.