Yellow tips and curling of clones

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

midibullets

Vortex shedding daily...
Reaction score
Hey everyone, posting this message to be safe. I'm new to growing hydro and my clones are not looking too great. The leaves are dying on the tips (how I bought them) and some leaves are yellowing with brown spots on the ends. Since i brought the clones home the other day, they have been slightly curling downward, and one of the leaves is curling upward. They just are not giving me a healthy vibe, so i'm nervous. They came in small rockwool cubes, and one was in the "rapid rooter" brown moss stuff. The Rapid rooter one is direclty in hydroton. the other plants i put in a 4'' rockwool cube, and they seem to be waterlogged a.k.a they never quite dry out. My first watering (by hand, not waterfarm) i used 1/2 teaspoon of "GH Flora 3 part" per gallon, and realized that was measurement for hydro, not for "drain to waste", so changed the nutes to 1/4 teaspoon per gallon and put that in the waterfarm.

Here is my info:

1. Hydro
2. Waterfarm System (4 buckets/individual rez)
3. GH Flora 3 part. 1/4 teaspoon per gallon of each.
4. Lighting: 4 T8 32Watt Floros, 2 cool white, 2 warm white.
5. PH is approximately 6 (using PH Up/Down liquid drops to test, i'm broke.
6. 3rd day home from the clone shop, clones are about 2-3 weeks old.
7. 60% humidity
8. Grow area size: 2'x8'x6' with 400 CFM fan blowing air from living room.
9. unsure of EC, PPM or anything like that. Cant afford nice digital meter :(
10. 24 hour light schedule and about 6" from floro lights.

Thanks!

001-LEAF-PROBLEM.jpg

002-LEAF-PROBLEM.jpg

003-LEAF-PROBLEM.jpg

looks like nute burn maybe a ph issue as well...not to be preachy but I would never buy clones that didnt look like they were in great health....if you cant afford the stuff for hydro it would be easier to do dirt imo...good luck.

2Dog said: