Ballast Wiring Queston

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MichiganDude

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm finalizing the design for my first little grow space. First out of the gate, I'm going with some autos, looking at the auto-AK47. But I've got a few questions about light ballasts first.

First, so no one gets freaked out, I was a trained as an electrician in the military, and I still do most of my own electrical work around the house. Suffice it to say, I know my way around a set of tools!

So, having said that, I think I'm going to buy a ballast kit, and socket, and roll my own light set, if you catch my drift. The place where I'm setting up my room stay's pretty cool all year round, so I think if I do a remote ballast setup, I should be ok. My first question is can I just mount the components on a board and leave then out in the air? With this setup, ballast heat should dissipate pretty well.

My second question, and one I'm having a little more trouble answering is what kind of amperage do these lights draw from the ballast? Been a long time since I messed with the whole i=e/r stuff, and I want to make sure I get the proper gauge. I will probably be going with a 150 - 250w light for my first setup. Leaning toward a very small space and the 150w size.

Thanks for the info!

I do my own wiring as well. I personally like using an enclosure for the ballast. Its not just sticking your hand in there, its anything making contact with the transformer. If heat from the ballast is a concern, use a thick piece of aluminum as a heat sink.

Ive mounted them to a board before, the PC case is a good idea, if not a little big.
They do sell nice enclosures for them with vents and a handle made from galvanized steel. seen them on e-[bay and some grow shop online.

Secondary voltage is not line voltage. I measured mine and it was around 35V after 5 minutes. However the start pulse was about 350V.