New to hydro, couple questions.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smotpoker

Reaction score
So I just got my SH Bubbleponics system fired up on the 21st, things are still running fine as far as mechanics go but I've run into a few problems.

Two days ago I checked everything, all systems were go, water was clear, pH was good. I added my nutes (1/2 strength as I am just getting started) and today, two days late I come home to find my pH to be 8.0 and the water is looking murky. There is also a bit of a smell, not sure if it's from the water down in the tub or the warm mist from the bubbles.

I just dropped the pH again but should I be checking and adjusting it AFTER I add the nutes? In other words, are the nutes changing the pH in the water or do I have other problems? Is the water having turned murky an issue or is this normal? Do I need to change the water already?

I have just one seed in Rockwool right now, it's popped but I have no sprout yet, I'm assuming I am a couple days away from that... Any and all help is appreciated.

Smotpoker, im also new to growing so im not sure how much help ill be but here goes.

what brand of nutrients are you using.
are you using tap/ro or distilled water.
im not familiar w/bubbleponics but what is the temp in your res. i run a DWC and im shooting for my res temps to be no more than 68 F.
do you have a big enough air pump.

my nutes change the ph of the water but im sure someone with more expierence will chime in.

when you change your PH in your nute res. do it slow, in 0.1 point per day.

read through the stickeys in the sick plant area.

smotpoker said:
So I just got my SH Bubbleponics system fired up on the 21st, things are still running fine as far as mechanics go but I've run into a few problems.