Soil Discussion...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chuckdee123

Roland Burnett
Reaction score
welcome to the soil thread. i'm a newbie who is currently growing in cheap regular planting soil from home depot because i didn't know any better when i planted.. :confused2:
anyway, share the soil you use..do you add anything to your soil? what is key in your opinion in keeping good soil?
help the kid out...
keep it lit
:48:

I get my soil from Home Depot as well....I think I am one of the few people who uses a Miracle Grow soil. I use MG Seed Starting Mix...it's the only MG soil I know off that has none of that time release fertilizer in it...it works great. I wld not use any of the other MG soils however...the ones with the added fertilizer will cook your seeds.

Some of us use Fox farm Ocean Forest soil. For my seedlings I have the FFOF soil cut with 50% seed starting soil. For bigger plants I don't cut the FFOF soil. Either way, I add a tablespoon of dolomite lime per gallon of soil. Plus, I think the next time I will add a some perlite in order to make the soil a bit more airy.

Cedar Grove in WA. Only thing added is hort lime from HD, Lilly Millers Soil Sweet, fine grade. Huge bag For cheap and MJ plants luv it.

Edit: I do 1tb per gal in veg and 3tb in flower.

Black Gold Organic

That's it, done! $8 a bag

I used to use Black Gold outdoors. Also good choice. Can get expensive, I pay $1.50 a cubic ft. FFOF and Blk gold are alot more though. Both great if $$ ain't no prob.

I found some stuff from miracle frow called Organic Choice potting mix. I cant see anywhere on there that any fertilizers have been added. Looks like decent stuff, going to mix it with some perlite and give it a go.

Warfish