Baffled! Seeking expert advise...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Green Lantern

new to hydro
Reaction score
Hello everyone.
First of all, I'm not a novice grower, and have never really had any problems growing in the past, despite growing indoors in less than ideal conditions (too hot, plants getting to close to the lights, miracle grow, etc...).

I've started growing again at a different location and am totally BAFFLED with as to why my plants look so unhealthy. After perfectly healthy initial growth, whether from seed or clone, soil-less mix in pots or hydroton in hydro flood&drain, organic (botanicare) or chem (Dutch Master) nutients... new growth will be a very light green/yellow, very small, wrinkled, and curls downward. Vertical growth slows way down. Not quite full sized leaves will wrinkle somewhat as they finish growing, but mature leaves remain perfectly healthy.

Here is my original thread when I first started having the problems that won't go away:

http://www.marijuanapassion.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20958

I've all but ruled out a nutrient disorder. The problem has shown up on both my mother plants in pots (soilless mix w/ organic nutes), as well as closes raised in a flood & drain tray w/ completely different nutes and a different watering schedule. I use city tap water, but I doubt that's the problem as my meters read 60ppm and 6.5-6.8 pH from the tap... is there something I'm not thinking about here? I keep the pH in the 5.5-5.8 range for the hydro and 6.1-6.6 or so for the soilless mix and monitor constantly. Adding fresh nutes doesn't bring any improvement. I've done the usual flush and add fresh nutes to no avail. I usually use nutrients at 3/4 strength. In hydro, I always add nutes to a full res one nute at a time and mix thoroughly before adding another. I'd be very surprised if nutrient lock-out was the culprit. RH is 35%- 70% with an average of 50%-55%.