My first grow...absolute beginner.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MisterZ

Reaction score
My wife and I just started our first grow, which is done in a closet in our house. We've never grown plants of any kind, and we are completely dumb when it comes to anything green. I'm germinating some seeds from my personal collection now and starting them this weekend.

Can you guys read my game plan and make sure I'm stacking the odds in my favor to get good plants?

I am using three 75 watt flourescent bulbs from Walmart, I attached them to the bottom of a shelf which I can move up or down in the closet (the first picture is with the lights at 4', the others at about 7'. As you can see from the pictures, the walls have been painted white and it's a fairly small room (7' deep, 3' wide and 8' tall). I am planting the seeds in soil that's designed for palm and dry-climate plants. I chose that because it had perlite and sand in it, and because it was fast-draining and enriched with Miracle-Gro. I don't know if this soil is good, but this time of year where I live I haven't found really good soil anywhere. I also will be using one small desk fan, hanging with the lights and blowing across the plants.

Is there anything I'm missing with this closet? I think the light and ventilation should be sufficient. What about my soil?

And I will be updating this as we go along and any tips along the way (the only things I know are from the guides here and a book that I have) would be really appreciated.

120.JPG

129.JPG

125.JPG