Object505, Home made hydroponics.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Object505

Pot Growing, Music Maker
Reaction score
This is my first grow and I have no experience at all. Luckily I my brother in law is also a medical marijuana patient and he has been giving me some good advice.

I can honestly say that building your own hydro system the first time is not the way to go. I have encounter problems and setbacks that cost me weeks if not months in the grow cycle.

775.jpg

Basically its like this.

I built my system out of.

1 inch PVC
2 liter Recycled Pepsi Bottles

A 5 Gallon Rubbermaid low profile plastic basin.
I great basin because it holds allot of water and its less then 7 inches high. I think its used for storing things under your bed.

10 Feet of plastic tubing
5 plastic elbows for tubing.
1 Water Pump
1 Air Pump and 1 foot long air stone.

766.jpg

This pump has two outputs on it so I use both of them in my basin.

770.jpg

This is my light. I found it at htgsupply.com for only $169.00 It's 400 watts and has both MH and HPS Bulbs. Its built very well.

5 Florescent grow lights from Wal-Mart. $8.50 each. I eventually replaced these lights and moved them to my cloning area. I replaced the lights with a MH/HPS 400 watt light I bought form HTGsupply.com. This 400 watt light with both MH and HPS cost only $169.00. The best price on the inter-net for grow lighting. They manufacture there own lights and fulfill there own warrantees. And so far I high recommend them for lighting.

768.jpg

Anyway moving on.

I saw pictures on the inter-net of hydro systems that were home built so I felt inspired and I wanted to build one of my own. Basically I did it from memory and I did it wrong. But my mistake turned into an advantage and Ill tell you how.