question??

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cannabis037

Reality Check
Reaction score
i just started growing hydroponically and im relatively new at this. my greatest fears is algae problems. what are the probabilities of algae problems on a homemade hydro?? heres my setup. any help would be appreciated! thank you in advance.
moz-screenshot.jpg
moz-screenshot-1.jpg

z184822939.jpg

Its kinda hard to tell, but it looks like your reservoir is a clear tub. Do not let any light into your reservoir. Either cover the tub with reflective duct tape, (not the grey tape), or get yourself one of those dark colored rubbermaid roughneck storage containers.

keep the tops of your medium covered to stop light penetrating ,,algae needs light and moistness to grow

the plastic container you see isn't the rez, but the rez is clear. i have read somewhere that you can add hydrogen peroxide in the rez along w/ the nutes to preven algae. is this true?? and do algae appear most of the time?? oh and how much root space is needed for whitewidows and skunks? i was planning to stick them in a 6'' diameter pots w/ hydroton after they sprout and let them grow. is this ok?? one more question how do exactly use the 3 part general hydroponic flora nutes? do i use all three in the beginning? or 2 and one for flower? thank you in advance.

I'm not 100% sure about adding hydrogen peroxide to the res to prevent algae growth. In my opinion, it would be easier and less of a headache to keep light from entering your reservoir period.

Algae WILL appear, no question, if there is light any light whatsoever in the reservoir.

As for root space, how will you be getting water to your plants? Ebb/flow? Drip system? How do you plan to set up your flowering room?

For your flora nutes use this schedule for feeding.
hXXp://www.hydroponics.net/learn/weekly_feeding_program_flora.asp