Trichs are getting cloudy! what color do you like? help me plzz

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

headband

Reaction score
so i bought a 60-100x scope, 11.99 radio shack. It works very nice, just very hard to focus. My trichs are clear, few are going cloudy. Pretty much like my icon picture, just covvverd!! When is the best time to harvest at for a couch lock high? What do you professinals think is best since this is my first time harvesting and want to know when the time is right, just from experienced growers, since i have none. Check my journal for the grow. The Purple is mostly clear, and the WW is starting to cloud. thanks guys

I would say around 80% for couch lock

Hey there headband,
The most important factor in harvest is timing for peak THC production.
in order to do this you must observe the trichomes (or trichs), which is the technical name for the crystally bits that cover your leaves and calyxes (calyxes are the bud bits that the hairs grow out from)

There are three types of trichomes, and only one of them produces THC in high quantities. This is called the "capitated stalked trichome" meaning a trichome with a stalk and a head.

first, (unless you are able to move your plant without risk of damage) select a small side bud and clip it off at the stem. then take it out of the growroom and into natural (but not direct) light. aim for flat but bright light, like sunlight reflected off a white wall.

get your magnifying glass (30X jewelers loupe is good, and only about US$20 off the net) , and have a good look at the trichomes from the side-on. Look for the ones like this : ======() and observe the colour of the head (cannabinoid secretions) and wait till around 50% of the capitated stalked trichomes have turned colour from clear to milky/amber. this will give the best all round high.