Germintion useing rockwool

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oneshot

Reaction score
Hello to all
This is my first time at this so I just want to have someone explain it one more time,Iam ready to get started.The system is DWc and want to start or gem them with rockwool..I plan on useing coco fiber on the bottom of the net cup..and then add kydoton to it after gerinating.Please send link or explain would be great.
Thankls
oneshot

I germ in rockwool & this is how I do it. I use Grodan starter cubes. You need to get a propagation tray, a mini cube tray, heat mat with thermostat, 3" & 8" domes & a good grow flouro. light. All but the light you can get from Grodan. Soak the beans in a glass in distilled water till they sink(over night). Soak the cubes in distilled water & place the beans in the cubes about 1/4" to 1/2" deep & cover the hole with your finger. Place the cubes with seeds in them in the mini cube tray. Fill the propagation tray with distilled water about 3/4" deep with the heat mat under the tray, set at about 83 degrees. Place the mini cube tray on the prop. tray. Cover with 3" dome. Sprouting should start in about 3 days. Once you see green, place the light as low as you can get it over the seedlings. Keep the light tight on the plants for 2 to 3 weeks. Than you can move them to your system. Most of the time I get 100% germination this way. Later Man

Thanks DLM3
That was great to let me know for sure on the rite way..Iam looking forward to starting.got system built today,just need to paint it white.
Will post pictures when I get it going..
thanks again
oneshot

Reactions: D3
Dont use the room till all the fumes from the paint are gone(about 2 to 3 days). It can kill seedlings.

DLM3
about how high do i need to let them grow before transplanting?After the rockwool is soaked in water and then put the s eed in rockwool,then use the grow floro in tray to let germinate??