Adequate lighting?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carlo

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to indoor growing and have a lighting question. I plan on growing about 5 fem plants in a small/medium closet. I plan on using 1 T5 four-foot fluorescent (2 bulbs) for vegetation and 1 HPS 400 watt lamp for flowering.

Do i have enough lumens/lighting for the 5 plants? what if i attempted to grow six plants, which seems to fit, is there enough lumens?

Also, at the flowering stage, could I use both lamps to increase the lumen?

I believe that it's a not good idea to use both in the vegetation phase, but i'm not sure.

Any insight is greatly appreciated.

Carlo said:
Hello all,

I'm new to indoor growing and have a lighting question. I plan on growing about 5 fem plants in a small/medium closet. I plan on using 1 T5 four-foot fluorescent (2 bulbs) for vegetation and 1 HPS 400 watt lamp for flowering.

Do i have enough lumens/lighting for the 5 plants? what if i attempted to grow six plants, which seems to fit, is there enough lumens?

Also, at the flowering stage, could I use both lamps to increase the lumen?

I believe that it's a not good idea to use both in the vegetation phase, but i'm not sure.

Any insight is greatly appreciated.

Lighting needs are figured by square foot rather than plant count. I would recommend a 4 lamp T5, as a 4' 2 bulb T5 will not give adequate coverage over 4', regardless of the depth of your space. A 400 W HPS is good for about 10 sq ft.

Keep in mind that yield is more a function of your lighting and the strain you are growing. By this I mean that you are not going to get more yield by putting more plants in your space. I think that for a 3 x 3 space (what you can adequately cover with a 400W HPS) that I would keep my plant count to 4 with about a 6-8 week veg.

i would use just the 400 watter you need just as many lumans for veg as you need for flower