Advertise On Marijuana Passion

Flower with T5s?

pawpaw

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2011
Messages
118
Reaction score
3
I'm going to augment my LED panels with HO T5s. Is any one here flowering with T5s and what (pseudo) color temp are you using.

thanks

pawpaw
 

WeedHopper

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
13,045
Reaction score
9,481
Location
Dallas
I have. I used a 4ft 6 tube T5 setup with 3000K bulbs for Flower. 6500K for Vegg.
This plant was under those T5s @ about 6 weeks flower.
 

Zone505

Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
WeedHopper said:
I have. I used a 4ft 6 tube T5 setup with 3000K bulbs for Flower. 6500K for Vegg.
This plant was under those T5s @ about 6 weeks flower.
how many watts is each of your tubes? I see they can come into many different wattage for that length...
 

Hushpuppy

Dr MadBud
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
6,441
Reaction score
288
Typically the 4' T5s put out about 5000lumens and pull 54watts the 2' t5s are basically half that. If yer real space tight HTGsupply.com here in the States has a 2' 4bulb fixture that puts out 20,000lumens at 220watts total. Or yu can get individual bulb fixtures from accessdiscounts.com for $23 ea. and place as many as yu need and link as many as 8 together. And they produce very little heat in comparison to the HIDs or CFLs
 

HomieDaGrower

Hillbilly Emeritus
Joined
Jul 8, 2011
Messages
298
Reaction score
17
Hushpuppy said:
Typically the 4' T5s put out about 5000lumens and pull 54watts the 2' t5s are basically half that. If yer real space tight HTGsupply.com here in the States has a 2' 4bulb fixture that puts out 20,000lumens at 220watts total. Or yu can get individual bulb fixtures from accessdiscounts.com for $23 ea. and place as many as yu need and link as many as 8 together. And they produce very little heat in comparison to the HIDs or CFLs
Actually a 4 bulb, 2 foot T5 uses 96 watts, and emits 8000 lumens.

HomieHogleg
 

Growdude

I am the Smo King
Joined
Oct 25, 2006
Messages
4,559
Reaction score
3,212
pawpaw said:
I'm going to augment my LED panels with HO T5s. Is any one here flowering with T5s and what (pseudo) color temp are you using.

thanks

pawpaw
Unless one is going to be used as side lighting there is no way to augment with the other type as both will need to be as close as possible for best results.
 

pawpaw

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2011
Messages
118
Reaction score
3
Here is a schematic of what I am building. All the lights are enclosed in the same air cooled housing.

Light Box.jpg
 

Growdude

I am the Smo King
Joined
Oct 25, 2006
Messages
4,559
Reaction score
3,212
cool layout, just be sure to use the reflectors from the T5, without them they lose lummens.
 

WeedHopper

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
13,045
Reaction score
9,481
Location
Dallas
You get a much better Lums to Watt with T5's. Not sure ya need LEDs,,I would use more T5s..
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
19,438
Reaction score
8,292
WeedHopper said:
You get a much better Lums to Watt with T5's. Not sure ya need LEDs,,I would use more T5s..
:yeahthat:

The 2' 5000 lumen tubes that HTG puts out are a double tube called a P55.
 

pawpaw

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2011
Messages
118
Reaction score
3
WeedHopper said:
You get a much better Lums to Watt with T5's. Not sure ya need LEDs,,I would use more T5s..
In truth the main reason I'm using the LEDs is that I already have them. But It is not fair to compare LEDs to other sources directly in terms of lumen values without comparing how the spectra of the lights' plot against the PAR


PAR :hxxp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Photosynthetically_active_radiation
 

SmokeMyPiece

Rip Champ
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
184
Reaction score
14
Nice layout man, but since you plan to use all those fluro's I was kinda thinkin the same thing as Weed Hopper:

WeedHopper said:
You get a much better Lums to Watt with T5's. Not sure ya need LEDs,,I would use more T5s..

Edit, beat me to the post:: OK, I thot maybe you already had 'em
 

pawpaw

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2011
Messages
118
Reaction score
3
Growdude said:
cool layout, just be sure to use the reflectors from the T5, without them they lose lummens.

I'm using the Sun-Blaster single bulb units. They are verylightweight and under an inch wide. The “housing” is highlyreflective aluminum. At the least I will paint the back-panel brightwhite. I'm going to do some experiments with applying some dualmetalized Mylar film with spray adhesive. If that tests out wellI'll do that.

And thanks, any other thoughts, suggestions?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
19,438
Reaction score
8,292
pawpaw said:
I'm using the Sun-Blaster single bulb units. They are verylightweight and under an inch wide. The “housing” is highlyreflective aluminum. At the least I will paint the back-panel brightwhite. I'm going to do some experiments with applying some dualmetalized Mylar film with spray adhesive. If that tests out wellI'll do that.

And thanks, any other thoughts, suggestions?
If they are T5s, they are 5/8" in diameter--the number after the T denotes the diameter of the tube in 1/8"
 

pawpaw

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2011
Messages
118
Reaction score
3
Right, sorry I wasn't clear, < one inch describes the width of the fixture not the bulb which is, of course, 5/8 inch.
 
R

Roddy

Guest
pawpaw said:
In truth the main reason I'm using the LEDs is that I already have them. But It is not fair to compare LEDs to other sources directly in terms of lumen values without comparing how the spectra of the lights' plot against the PAR


PAR :hxxp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Photosynthetically_active_radiation
Doesn't mean squat if it's severely underlit, though!
 

Hushpuppy

Dr MadBud
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
6,441
Reaction score
288
pawpaw said:
I'm using the Sun-Blaster single bulb units. They are verylightweight and under an inch wide. The “housing” is highlyreflective aluminum. At the least I will paint the back-panel brightwhite. I'm going to do some experiments with applying some dualmetalized Mylar film with spray adhesive. If that tests out wellI'll do that.

And thanks, any other thoughts, suggestions?
I use those sunblaster single units and love'em:D :cool:
 

pawpaw

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2011
Messages
118
Reaction score
3
Roddy said:
Doesn't mean squat if it's severely underlit, though!
Just as lumens don't mean squat if they are in the wrong part of the spectrum.
 

Latest posts

Top