How many watts on 240v?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Type_S150

Reaction score
I have a quick question about electricity. How much wattage can I run on a line of 240? (i.e how many 1Kw bulbs would be safe to run?). Thanks.

I am not an electrician but i believe you could run 2 1000 watt lights. I think a 240 is 22.5 amps, a 1000 pulls around 9 amps

sweetnug said:
I am not an electrician but i believe you could run 2 1000 watt lights. I think a 240 is 22.5 amps, a 1000 pulls around 9 amps
Thanks for the reply but that doesnt seem right to me, but I am not an electrician either. I thought someone told me on this site I can run about 3000watts on a 110. anyone else?

i can run a generator off a 240 v line that pulls 9000 watts

i just read in lights your suppose to use max 3500 =\ so idk man im guessing around 4k

there is usually 120s and 240s

Type_S150 said:
Thanks for the reply but that doesnt seem right to me, but I am not an electrician either. I thought someone told me on this site I can run about 3000watts on a 110. anyone else?

First the formula for ohms law is volts x amp =watts
So 3000 watts on 110 volts would draw = 27.27 amps,

What really matters here is the currnt rating for the 240 breaker.
A 1000 watt light draws about 10 amps @ 120 volts, so at 220 volts it draws 5, the wattage is the same just the current draw changes.

Growdude said:
First the formula for ohms law is volts x amp =watts
So 3000 watts on 110 volts would draw = 27.27 amps,

What really matters here is the currnt rating for the 240 breaker.
A 1000 watt light draws about 10 amps @ 120 volts, so at 220 volts it draws 5, the wattage is the same just the current draw changes.

This "sounds" right to me. I'm no 'sparky', but I do know that the number of watts that you can draw through any give line, is dependant on wire guage and breaker amperage.