new set up new to growing,need advice and guidance

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joe36

Reaction score
The disclaimer, this project is fictional. It is only to be used for environmental controlled tomato growth and educational purposes. Any resemblance of a real grow room is coincidental.
I am very new to the form so I hope this post will be a good enough explanation of materials on hand and to get advice on where to go from here.
I have
2- of the type hood with 8 inch in and out vents with 2- 1000 watt metal halide bulbs
2- Solid state dimmable ballast 500w low 750 w medium 1000w high
Originally the ballast and lights had the metal halide and 2- hps bulbs
The hps bulbs lit one time and never lit again.
The metal halides bulbs don’t like to be dimed and on occasion will not start on the low setting so the 1000w setting is the only practical setting.
2- Large 8 inch activated carbon filters
2 -8 inch hurricane blower fans designed for the purpose intended
Timers, hangers, ducting, and hardware,
1-5000 btu. Air conditioner.
Heating is with a 15000 Btu gas space heater
A tight 5 foot by 7 foot by 7 foot high room inside a larger room inside a larger semi industrial building the larger building is kept above freezing in the winter with a minimum temperature of 45 degrees. This building has no air-conditioning. The exhaust air will be to an attic
Water, gas and electric are sufficient for any project of this nature.
I have no dehumidifier at this time.
Temperature and humidity will be P.L.C. controlled to within +- 2 degrees and +_5 % humidity. With the materials on hand I can not lower the humidity
There are no security problems with sound electrical use or smell due to the industrial nature of the building.
Light will be controlled by a Curtin to the area, a door to the room, a door on the inside isolating the back of the building and an entrance door to the main building