Timer trouble

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cjf2612

Tree man
Reaction score
Im in week 7 of veg with my grow and the ladies are 17 inchs high/all is good.
The problem is the timers I keep using for my 400 hps keep breaking ( as in they work for a few days, then wont switch off even when it clicks over to off, power continues to be supplied. I have bought 3 good quality timers now all rated at 4KW which should be plenty man enough.
Anyone else had the same prob?

Is it by chance a noma timer??? heavy duty outdoor????

That's weird cjf. I've been using the same two $20 timers for two years now. Are you on 50 or 60 Hz power? 120V?

I'm not sure what country you're in.

Check all the ratings on the timer and make sure you aren't outside one of them.

I use the kind with the plastic tabs that slide in or out to start/stop. The ones that have 15 minute intervals.

Also, on some, you can't turn the timer backwards without breaking it.

Good luck man!

RatherBBurnin said:
Is it by chance a noma timer??? heavy duty outdoor????
No, just a normal indoor jobby, that is x3 now. All brand new and diferent types, the first two rated 3kw/240v (im in uk), the third 4kw/240v all doing the same thing after a few days.
?????????????????????????????????????????????
Is that just real bad luck on timers or is there more to it ?ballast?.
I have a healthy fear of electric and it bothers me when stuff isnt doing what its supposed to do.
Its also playing havoc on my sleep routine having to switch light on/off or double checking the timers clicked over.

cjf2612 said:
No, just a normal indoor jobby, that is x3 now. All brand new and diferent types, the first two rated 3kw/240v (im in uk), the third 4kw/240v all doing the same thing after a few days.
?????????????????????????????????????????????
Is that just real bad luck on timers or is there more to it ?ballast?.