how can you tell without a microscope?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pinkpetals61

Reaction score
so i've been looking at my plant, and i see some of the buds are changing color to amber, brown. is there a way to know when to harvest without buying a microscope? its been growing since mid may outside, (in ohio) this is my first time growing, only one plant....dunno if i'll do it again, so i hate to go to the expense if there is another way to tell...whaddaya think? she's beautiful with lots of buds. the buds are starting to grow together to form one large one..i'm getting antsy, can you tell? lol
i cant wait to harvest and try it out....i've probably got a magnifying glass around here somewhere, will that do? can you tell with a naked eye? any advice would be appreciated....she's finallly recovered from my son plucking the large leaves i mentioned on another post.(or the brown buds are the result of damage) ..the neighbors are a little iffy and i wouldnt put it past them to steal her, so i want to bring her in as soon as possible...

You really can't tell without a microscope. I think that it is probably a bit early--we are only about 11 weeks past the solstice. Also, if "the buds are (just) starting to grow together to form one large one", it may be a little early. Buds can put on a lot oif weight in the last 2-3 weeks, however, if theft is an issue, you are going to have to use your best judgment. Bud harvested a little early is certainly better than NO bud.