Are my plants retarded?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gert McClert

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I've been growing for about 2 weeks now for my first time and I have about 30 plants growing in 15 pots to save space. The link to the pics is below, just click on the album entitled "shiz". Anyway the plants are pretty tall but the stems are thin and I dont even see how they can hold a full-grown plant up unless the grow quite a bit thicker. So yah, I'm on 14 days since breaking the surface and my plants just aren't as big as most people's seem to be by that point. My best plants are just getting their third set of leaves now, including the smooth ones, is that normal? I know they are getting enough light and water, there is a 100 watt light bulb right over them and the soil is deinitely moist. Anyone with ideas I would love to hear them.

G

Well, Im not an expert, but there are a few things that could be the problem.. and I'm going to guess it probably has something to do with the light you're using. I read about it somewhere... either the light is too far away... or something about the heat created by the light... well anyway there are some resources on the internet.
For example one website said

"If the plant does not get enough light, it will grow tall too quickly and the plant will not be strong enough to support itself and will quickly die."

You said you had ONE 100 watt light. what KIND of light? The type of light makes a huge difference. This site has some good grow guidelines if you've read them, and here is a link to another site which has helped me out a lot.

http://www.greenmanspage.com/guides/closetfarmer.html

Good luck!

The problem is that you're using a 100 watt incandescent bulb. And it's not putting out nearly enough light for your plants. That is why they appear so "tall." They're actually stretching rather badly for more light because they're not getting nearly enough.