fan leaf pruning

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
i just cut all my fan leaves yesterday and my buddy said i ruined my crop. this is my first time growing and i need some advise on what to do. is there something out there to fix the problem, or should i chalk it up as a loss?

Yeah, I'm the buddy. Way to go dude!

Is there any hope?

These plants (ak47) were in week 3 of flowering and were lush and green. He's growing indoor in soil under a 400w hps. In a small closet with good airflow/temps.

well, you need fan leaves to grow the bud so it doesnt look good,
in the future never cut off any fan leaves at all just let em fall off,
the only thing i cut off are the useless bottom branches 1 week before i start flowering

puff puff pass,

Why in the Hell did you do that? I'm sure you were given some kind of advice to do it, but that doesn't even make sense that early into flowering. AK47s are known for taking around 9-10 weeks in flower. What do you think is going to do the photosynthesis to feed the plant now?

So far as I know, you are SOL on "fixing" it now. All you can do is to ride it out and see if they recover. I'd cut your nutes way back and maybe try flipping it back into veg until you get new growth to replace those missing leaves.

This is just a friendly piece of advice, but ALWAYS ask for advice BEFORE taking radical action like that, especially if you are not real experienced at growing. This advice is the result of a lifetime of acting first and then asking after I have really screwed something up. Fortunately I haven't done anything quite that bad with my plants yet, but I'm fairly sure that if you give me enough time I will.

GOOD LUCK.

Great smoking.

Hopefully, some one may know of something you can do and will share it.