Quick Question Re: # of pots in my DWC

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oldtyme

Reaction score
Hi. I'm going to attempt my first hydro grow.

I am using a DIY DWC system (see DIY section for video)

Anyways. I have 4 holes for pots drilled. (with no room for any more)

I was wondering since this is my first time, should I leave the 4th hole open for ease in watering/monitoring the system? I think having 4 growing will make it more difficult to add water/etc.

if im not mistaken you wanna keep them closed off so no light reaches your water. i think light causes mold in the tank. don't take my word for it wait for more experienced hydro grows to chime in

Yes leave one unused...I use an 18gal tub with 6 wholes..I'll start 6 seedlings and hope for at least one male. For the first 4 weeks of veg it's easy just to lift one net pots out to add,and or R&R nutes...When they get big the rootball is just to big to do that...Good luck.

Cld you post a pic of you set up? My first run was a 4 site dwc and I had nothing but problems with that many plants in it. It was too small for that many plants. Now I use ones tub for each plant. I use Tidy Cat litter buckets.

There's a video of it in the DIY section.

I planned on blocking the empty hole to prevent light going in when I'm not messing with it.

I hope it's not too crowded. My first time using it. I plan on flowering early before it get's too big.

Even if I have problems it's only a $10 loss (for the storage container)

As v35b said, for the first few weeks you can just lift a plant out to fill but as Hammy said, you will have problems keeping that number of plants in one tote.
Personally, I have a 4 plant tote I use while the plants are growing good roots, once they have a few roots poking out of the 5" netpot, they get their own 5gal bucket until they are ready for flowering.