rain water

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MoNoXiDe

Reaction score
Is rain water good to collect to water with? or waste of time? It rains so much here I am thinking about getting a rain collect barrel.

My regular garden loves the stuff....my first go around with MJ though did not like it. Then I found mosquito larvae in the barrel and have never used it on my MJ since.....I still use it in the garden though...and it works great and saves me alot of money (My regular garden requires ALOT of water)

i've just been ph'ing tap water every time I water.

I use rain water all the time with no bad effects...I suppose it would matter where you live ???....I use 6 55 gallon drums hooked to down spout. I grow organic and dont need PH water..just more lime

:48:

4U2, there is probably alot of truth in that where you live matters....Im not a scientist or educated in the matter, but would make sense.

I use tap water that sits for 2-3 days and gets to temps and allows some chlorine to evaporate.

It DOES make a lot of difference where the water is collected from. If you live in an area with air pollution, you can depend that some of this ends up in the rain water. Also if you collect water running off your roof, it can pick up debris and chemicals from your roof.

Yes rain water is excellent, although I would not use if I lived down wind from a coal burning electric producer or something similar. Unless you have a brand new shingled roof the chemical will have already be washed offed to such a level to be negligible. Mosquito larvae in water means the water is stagnate(low levels or zero DO) add air and good to go. The only thing I have noticed about using rain water is I must use cal/mag in the water.