Soilless Mix / Nutrients Question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Auburn1985

Reaction score
I've been growing in Super Soil for several years now, and I want to try something else. Super Soil is great, but I'm a bit tired of ordering all the ingredients, storing them, mixing and storing Super Soil, etc.

My current living situation is not well-suited to hydroponics (I have to carry water upstairs). So I want to try a good soilless mix, and a high quality line of chemical nutrients.

For the soilless mix, I was thinking of using Pro Mix BX, or something else from the Pro Mix line. Is this a good choice, or is something else clearly better?

As for chemical nutrients, I have no idea. Money is not an issue; I want the best. Suggestions?

Thanks.

I use pro mix....... so do many others here......I add some lime....... General Hydrophonics nutes 3 part or 2 part work well and don't cost a fortune...... also check out the Lucus formula using only 2 parts of the 3 part series........ I'm using it now....... working well.

Grower13 said:
I use pro mix....... so do many others here......I add some lime....... General Hydrophonics nutes 3 part or 2 part work well and don't cost a fortune...... also check out the Lucus formula using only 2 parts of the 3 part series........ I'm using it now....... working well.

Do you use the BX, or what? Pro Mix has a lot of different mixes on their web site these days.

Do you add perlite, or does the Pro Mix drain well enough on its own?

What size pots do you use?

Thanks.

I use the bx........ yes I added more perlite....... drains well....... it was just a little to heavy right off the bale(lol) for my likeing......... I like my soil lite and airey........ I have had no ph problems........ seems to take less nutes to satisfy the plants....... could be a good ph doing that.