Crossing strains

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

duffman

Reaction score
So i am coming to the end of our grow season and harvest is nearly here.
I only just did my first grow and my biggest plant,my pride and joy turned out to be a dam hermaphrodite.
I dont want this to happen next year so i want to know where my seeds are coming from.
I have been thinking that if i order a few different types of seeds off the net and grow them in winter,seperate the males and the females then when the females are flowering pollenate them with the males. So i would get say... BigBud x Afghan and then i would get big buds that are even better because afghan grows great in my climate.... Would this work?
A guy at my work tells me that the seeds will be crap because just liek growing good buds you need good light etc to grow good seeds.
Whats the run down with this basically i am a complete novice and i need your help before i start go ordering seeds and trying to cross pollinate with out actually knowing what i am doing.
Oh and does anyone know where a good place to order my seeds from,i live in australia.

Just order good seeds and then find your favorite female and take clones instead of attempting to breed.

If you are set on making seeds you will need at least some way of keeping the male alive until you can collect pollen. You can't just throw him in a dark closet, but he also won't need grow lights, you're not going to be too concerned with how well he grows once you make your selection.