Depression Help

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thorn

Micro Queen
Reaction score
Hi all. Ok so this is not really related to MJ (heaven forbid!) so please don't start having a go at me or banning me as i can't deal with much more today.

I'm having a bit of a relapse into depression at the moment, but am trying to look for work, well i've been looking for work since long before i left my old job. I left that job for many reasons, but at the end of the day I had no one to talk to while i was their and was really getting down. anyway thats not the point..

I've never worked full time before, mostly because i've been studying and so have not been able to. But for the last year and a half I haven't been studying but have only been able to manage a part time job, and as soon as I started to have problems with that I began to get ill again and couldn't cope with it most of the time.

I've never really thought about incapacity benifits until my dad (who's got depression too) spoke to me about it. Now I know I cannot cope with full time work because 1 early morning alone will leave me feeling drained for about a week. Part time work will not allow me to get my own place and support myself or my pets. Now I never liked the idea of benefits cause there's nothing physically wrong with me, well apart from that I get colds and viruses a LOT when i'm low. I've always like to earn my wages and feel guilty when i'm 'given' money.

I just don't know what to do anymore. I'm starting to feel like there's no point in my life, I have no purpose or direction and never really have done as far as I can remember. I don;t quite know what I'm asking, maybe just a little advice on how I can start to stand on my own 2 feet again, or well i suppose, for the first time really.