Soil? need help

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

masterblaster26

Reaction score
So i have been reading around and was under the impression i wanted to go with a soiless mix. I grabbed some at wal-mart and it contains 82% peat moss 17% perlite and 1% lime. I planted a few days ago and 2/3 are already out and about 1 in. I was recently reading and heard that some people have had problems with peat moss and it wasnt a good grow medium. anyone know? also if im going about it wrong can anyone point me in the direction of a good soil to use (preferably one you can get at wal-mart). this is my first attempt so im really unsure of a lot of things.

eh youre not going about it wrong i think you have everything right but if you want just some regular potting soil from walmart that is good to grow in search around for expert gardener potting soil

im not concerned about price any type that anyone can say straigh up kicks ***

Peat moss might give you ph problems. If you want to use soil you can mix two parts super soil with one part perlite. Super soil was the stuff to use 20 years ago. It is high in nitrogen. I grew with it for many years with no problem. When I grow in soil I usually start out my seeds in a seed starting soil in little cups and then transplant after about a week. Miracle grow makes a seed starting mixe that works well for me. I just bought the super soil and perlite at orchard supply. I have also gotten it at home depot. If you have a hydro store nearby get some fox farm ocean forest for the best results I have seen in soil. Get a cheap little moisture sensor when you get your soil, I think they are about 6 bucks or so at home depot and will help a lot. After 28 years of growing I still use one to take the guess work out of watering. I hope this helps.