KeepsTen's First

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KeepsTen

Reaction score
Hey all, this is my first time posting, and first time growing. All suggestions and pointers are welcome.

Heres what ive got so far. Ive built an 8 plant aeroponic system that floods the grow mediums from underneath then drains back into the nutrients solution. But at this point, I think I may just stick this outside for other herbs (basil, mint etc)

I want switch to an ebb and flow system due to its relative ease of set up and operation (as it looks) and the amount of room I have in my closet. Heres what ive got planned if I do.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Dont know how big trays go, might have to do a 4'x2' cause that sounds like the common size, but I'd like to go with a 6'x3' tray. Id then use a gallon buckets, with netting inside to hold my transplanted babies into 4'' rockwool cubes, and burry them in hydroton.

Plug in a drip stick into each one, and place them all on my tray, thatll be elevated just a bit more on one side to allow draining back into my reservoir.

Ive got a 600w siwtchable lumatek system on its way, and gonna pick up the MH bulb when it arrives and a 6'' fan outlet for my sealed lamp housing. Im gonna pump this out into my attict space above my closet, but im afraid of heating/CO2 issues.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Questions:
1) Is that right? or am I missing something somewhere?
2) Im using organic nutes (botanicare) that were at my local hydro store, or should I return these and switch to something stronger? (brand names to look for would help)
3) How would I get enough CO2 into the room, or would the ambiet area be enough?
4) Got any suggestions?

Ill have a million questions later, just havent gotten around to coming up with them yet on account of it all still needs to be built. :)